[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[FYI] (Fwd) Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier

------- Forwarded message follows -------
Date sent:      	Wed, 9 Feb 2000 13:37:30 -0800
From:           	Alex Fowler <alex@eff.org>
Subject:        	Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier
To:             	gilc-plan@gilc.org
Send reply to:  	gilc-plan@gilc.org


Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier

Call for Nominations:
The Ninth Annual International EFF Pioneer Awards

       Please redistribute this notice in appropriate fora

In every field of human endeavor, there are those dedicated to
expanding knowledge, freedom, efficiency, and utility.  Many of
today's brightest innovators are working along the electronic
frontier. To recognize these leaders, the Electronic Frontier
Foundation established the Pioneer Awards for deserving individuals
and organizations.

The Pioneer Awards are international and nominations are open to all. 
The deadline for nominations this year is March 15, 2000 (see
nomination criteria and instructions below).

The 2000 AWARDS

The Ninth Annual EFF Pioneer Awards will be presented in Toronto,
Canada, at the 10th Conference on Computers, Freedom, and Privacy (see
http://www.cfp2000.org).  The ceremony will be held on the evening of
April 6, 2000.  All nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges
chaired by Dave Farber, FCC Chief Technologist and long time EFF
Boardmember, and chosen for their knowledge of the technical, legal,
and social issues associated with information technology.

This year's EFF Pioneer Awards judges are:

 - Herb Brody, Senior Editor, Technology Review
 - Dave Farber, Chief Technologist, FCC
 - Moira Gunn, Host, Tech Nation, NPR
 - Larry Irving, CEO, UrbanMagic.com
 - Tara Lemmey, Executive Director, EFF
 - Peter G. Neumann, Principal Scientist, Computer Science
    Lab, SRI International and Moderator, ACM Risks Forum
 - Susan H. Nycum, Partner, Baker & McKenzie
 - Drazen Pantic, NYU Center for War, Peace, & the News Media
 - Barbara Simons, President, ACM


There are no specific categories for the EFF Pioneer Awards, but the
following guidelines apply:

1. The nominees must have made a substantial contribution to the
health, growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based

2. The contribution may be technical, social, economic, or cultural.

3. Nominations may be of individuals, systems, or organizations in the
private or public sectors.

4. Nominations are open to all, and you may nominate more than one
recipient.  You may nominate yourself or your organization.

5. All nominations, to be valid, must contain your reasons, however
brief, for nominating the individual or organization, along with a
means of contacting the nominee, and your own contact number. 
Anonymous nominations will be allowed, but we prefer to be able to
contact the nominating parties in the event that we need further

6. Every person or organization, with the single exception of EFF
staff members, is eligible for an EFF Pioneer Award.

7. Persons or representatives of organizations receiving an EFF
Pioneer Award will be invited to attend the ceremony at the
Foundation's expense.

You may send as many nominations as you wish, but please use one
e-mail per nomination.  Submit all entries to: pioneer@eff.org

Just tell us:

1. The name of the nominee;

2. The phone number or e-mail address at which the nominee can be
reached; and, most importantly,

3. Why you feel the nominee deserves the award;

You may attach supporting documentation in Microsoft Word or other
standard binary formats.


1992: Douglas C. Engelbart, Robert Kahn, Jim Warren, Tom Jennings, and
Andrzej Smereczynski; 1993: Paul Baran, Vinton Cerf, Ward Christensen,
Dave Hughes and the USENET software developers, represented by the
software's originators Tom Truscott and Jim Ellis; 1994: Ivan
Sutherland, Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman, Murray Turoff and
Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Lee Felsenstein, Bill Atkinson, and the WELL; 
1995: Philip Zimmermann, Anita Borg, and Willis Ware; 1996: Robert
Metcalfe, Peter Neumann, Shabbir Safdar and Matthew Blaze;  1997: Marc
Rotenberg, Johan "Julf" Helsingius, and (special honorees) Hedy Lamarr
and George Antheil; 1998: Richard Stallman, Linus Torvalds, and
Barbara Simons; 1999: Jon Postel, Drazen Pantic, and Simon Davies.

See http://www.eff.org/pioneer for further information.


The Electronic Frontier Foundation (http://www.eff.org) is a global
nonprofit organization linking technical architectures with legal
frameworks to support the rights of individuals in an open society.
Founded in 1990, EFF actively encourages and challenges industry and
government to support free expression, privacy, and openness in the
information society.  EFF is a member-supported organization and
maintains one of the most-linked-to Web sites in the world.

------- End of forwarded message -------